U21 Final Bective/Dunsany 4-09 Moynalty/Carnaross 1-09

Bective/Dunsany have ‘goal’den touch.

Goals were the difference as Bective/Dunsany prevailed over Carnaross/Moynalty in the Under 21 F B final on Friday night at a bitterly cold Dunganny.

Bective/Dunsany ………. 4-9
Carnaross/Moynalty ……. 1-9

The scores were tied twice in the early stages before Shane Walshe’s 10th minute goal earned Bective/Dunsany a lead they took to the finish.

To their credit Tom Shine’s men kept the eventual winners in their sights until the side in navy bagged their second goal within three minutes of the resumption.

Cathal McConnell’s rasper made it 2-5 to 0-5 with Walsh providing the assist. Walsh scored 1-4 and had a hand in two of his side’s other goals.

He also dropped deep on occasions to support his side in the midfield exchanges. It wasn’t a one-man show in the scoring stakes. Cathal Murphy chipped in with 1-3. His goal was the fourth and was registered in the 59th minute.

A brace of points from left-footed Murphy frees were useful when the game was still close.

Bective/Dunsany achieved this success without the suspended Pierre Fox, who was sent-off in the semi-final.

Niall Flynn’s charges showed commendable reaction to mistakes and made valiant efforts to regain possession, often successfully. Their overall workrate contributed significantly to their win.

Donagh Garvey and Conor Harkin were prominent in a vigilant defence that leaked just one goal.

The third Bective/Dunsany goal was posted in the 49th minute with David Fitzpatrick netting following an exchange of passes with Walsh. The left it 3-7 to 0-6.

Carnaross/Moynalty almost doubled their tally with the next two scores. The first was one of Anthony Nevin’s four points from play. In the 53rd minute when Paddy Byrne netted from close range to leave two goals between the sides.

Bective/Dunsany could have been further ahead at this point but Carnaross/Bective goalkeeper Johnny Lynch blocked Cathal Murphy’s 17th minute attempt superbly.

Before the throw-in a minute’s silence was observed in honour of Pat Cussen, Honorary President of Moynalty GFC, who died last week.

For their efforts Bective/Dunsany earn possession of the Stiofain O Mealoid Cup, which honours a young Clann na nGael player who died in a road traffic accident 10 years ago.

Bective/Dunsany – Cian O’Neill; Dermot McKenna, Donagh Garvey; Dara Maguire (0-1), David Fitzpatrick (1-0), Conor Harkin; David Boyle, Eoin Harkin; Charlie O’Donnell, Cathal McConnell (1-1, 0-1f), Jack Clarke; Cathal Murphy (1-3, 0-2fs), Shane Walsh (1-4, 0-2fs). Subs – Ryan Montague for Clarke (48), Josh Dennehy for Boyle (53), Ciaran Casey for Murphy (60), Ben Smyth for O’Donnell (60), Neil Dowdall for Walsh (60), Andrew Hobson for Maguire (60 + 4)

Match report courtesy of H


No Replies to "U21 Final Bective/Dunsany 4-09 Moynalty/Carnaross 1-09"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK